Sunday, December 16, 2007

"A Christmas Celebration Of Hope"

B.B. King
Audio CD: FDO 2001-11-06
Label: MCA Records
"After nearly five decades of making music, B.B. King ducked into the studio with his touring band to come up with his very first holiday album, A Christmas Celebration Of Hope. Despite bringing in The Nashville String Machine, co-producer King used them in a way that enhanced his rich singing on lush versions of Billy Ward's "Christmas In Heaven" and a pair of Charles Brown perennials--"Please Come Home For Christmas" and "Merry Christmas Baby." Other artists getting the royal treatment are Clarence Carter (a funky "Back Door Santa") and Amos Milburn (the brass-soaked "Christmas Comes But Once A Year"). The only originals the King Of The Blues trots out are his resurrected 1960 shuffle "Christmas Celebration" and the more recent slow blues instrumental "Christmas Love." King even squeezes in a tribute to the New Year with a rollicking take on Brown's "Bringing In A Brand New Year" and an equally swinging instrumental interpretation of "Auld Lang Syne." In true holiday spirit, a portion of the proceeds from the sale of A Christmas Celebration Of Hope will fund innovative research and compassionate patient care programs at the California-based City of Hope, a world-renowned comprehensive cancer center. Enjoy! 320.0 kb/sec!"

Track Listings
01. Please Come Home For Christmas
02. Lonesome Christmas
03. Back Door Santa
04. Christmas In Heaven
05. I'll Be Home For Christmas
06. To Someone That I Love
07. Christmas Celebration
08. Merry Christmas Baby
09. Christmas Love
10. Blue Decorations
11. Christmas Comes But Once A Year
12. Bringing In A Brand New Year
13. Auld Lang Syne

Code: +
Password: Honey
95,78 + 4,59 MB *** IF YOU LIKE IT, DO NOT FORGET TO BUY IT ***

"White Christmas"

Elvis Presley
Audio CD: FDO 2000-09-26
Label: BMG Heritage
"White Christmas is a very smart compilation bringing together beautifully remastered versions of every Christmas song Elvis Presley ever recorded--which is to say the complete Elvis's Christmas Album (one of his best selling LPs), Elvis Sings Christmas Songs (originally a 7 inch EP), and various singles and odds and ends. Interestingly, at the time of the first album's original release, "White Christmas" composer Irving Berlin was so offended by Elvis's rendition that he actually wrote to major radio stations asking them not to play it. Since then, of course, Presley's version has deservedly become classic (as has take on the song's more down-and-dirty opposite, "Blue Christmas"). There's no doubting Elvis's complete commitment to the material here, in particular the gospel tunes like "Take My Hand Precious Lord" that were deleted from RCA's 1970 reissue of the first album. Enjoy! 320.0 kb/sec!"

Track Listings
01. Santa Claus Is Back In Town
02. White Christmas
03. Here Comes Santa Claus (Right Down Santa Claus Lane)
04. I'll Be Home For Christmas
05. Blue Christmas
06. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me)
07. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
08. Silent Night
09. (There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
10. I Believe
11. Take My Hand, Precious Lord
12. It Is No Secret (What God Can Do)
13. O Come, All Ye Faithful
14. The First Noel
15. On A Snowy Christmas Night
16. Winter Wonderland
17. The Wonderful World Of Christmas
18. It Won't Seem Like Christmas (Without You)
19. I'll Be Home On Christmas Day
20. If I Get Home On Christmas Day
21. Holly Leaves And Christmas Trees
22. Merry Christmas Baby
23. Silver Bells
24. Mama Liked The Roses
25. If Every Day Was Like Christmas

Code: +
Password: Honey
95,78 + 57,66 MB *** IF YOU LIKE IT, DO NOT FORGET TO BUY IT ***