Friday, May 11, 2007

The Rough Guide To English Roots Music


Audio CD: FDO 1998-08-25
Label: World Music Network

"Since the '60s, the vibrant English folk scene has seen a rich harvest of talent. This CD selection samples some of its ripest fruits and reminds us that branches as diverse as the stalwart Norfolk singer Harry Cox (born 1885) and blunt Cockney Billy Bragg share a common root.Revivalist mainstays such as Martin Carthy, the Watersons, and the Albion Band are all well-represented (the only notable absence being Steeleye Span), and with talents ranging from Eliza Carthy and the unmatchable Northumbrian piper Billy Pigg to the troubadours Rory MacLeod and John Kirkpatrick, there's something here for every taste. Anyone who still hankers after the illusion of Ye Olde England ignores this music's obvious vitality, as Billy Bragg tellingly reminds us in his classic "A New England". This English tradition is alive, well, and still has plenty to say!......... at 256 kbps!"

Track Listings
01. Lucky Break - Hank Dogs
02. Trip - Eliza Carthy & The Kings Of Calicutt
03. Sail On By - Oyster Band
04. Claudy Banks - Norma Waterson & Martin & Eliza Carthy
05. Be My Rambling Woman - Rory McLeod
06. Gypsy's Lullaby & The Hawk & Memories & Coates Hall - Billy Pigg
07. The Begging Song - Martin Carthy & Dave Swarbrick
08. A Lord Of Steam And Iron - John Kirkpatrick
09. Falling Slowly - Boyes Coope & Simpson
10. Hopping Down In Kent - Louise Fuller
11. Country Life - The Watersons
12. Byker Hill - Barely Works
13. Brilliant Pebbles - Edward II
14. Yellow Dress - Albion Band
15. Red Wing Polka - Walter Bulwer & Billy Cooper & Daisy Bulwer & Reg Hall & Mervyn Plunkett & Russell Wortley
16. Bold Fisherman - Harry Cox
17. The Baker - Savourna Stevenson & June Tabor & Danny Thompson
18. A New England - Billy Bragg

Code: Download Part 01 - Download Part 02
Password: Honey
95,78 + 2,13 MB *** IF YOU LIKE IT, DO NOT FORGET TO BUY IT ***