Monday, December 03, 2007

"The Christmas Song"

Nat "King" Cole
Audio CD: FDO 1963-09-27
Label: Capitol / EMI Records
"How can you not love Nat "King" Cole's classic Christmas release? From the first note to the last, it just drips with memories of Christmases past. Of course, it does help that I grew up listening to it.
It opens with the title song, which was introduced to the world by Nat. While I enjoy other renditions, this version is definitely a classic. While every song is wonderful, standouts for me are the songs I don't have as often in my Christmas music collection. "Deck the Hall," "O Tannenbaum" (Yes, recorded in German.), "I Saw Three Ships," and "Caroling, Caroling" are included in this group. And I have to make special note of "A Cradle in Bethlehem." This musical version of the Christmas story is very touching. I wish more artists would record it.
Having listened to this album every Christmas I can remember, it just wouldn't be Christmas without it. Even now, listening to it makes me think of dark winter nights, decorating the tree, and wrapping presents. It has a special place in my collection, and I'm sure it will in yours as well. Enjoy!......
at 320.0 kb/sec!"

Track Listings:
01. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
02. Deck The Halls
03. Adeste Fideles
04. O Tannenbaum
05. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
06. I Saw Three Ships
07. O Holy Night
08. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
09. A Cradle In Bethlehem
10. Away In A Manger
11. Joy To The World
12. The First Noel
13. Caroling, Caroling
14. Silent Night

Password: Honey