Monday, May 07, 2007

The Rough Guide To World Music


Audio CD: FDO 1994-10-25
Label: World Music Network

"I hate world music," wrote David Byrne, who went on to explain that he disliked a vague marketing label that ghettoized the majority of the world's music. The Rough Guiders who compiled this insanely far-flung anthology, conversely, apparently adore the term's catchall nature. Which is why you'll find everything from Colombian salsa fireball Joe Arroyo to the Gaelic "mouth music" of Scot singer Talitha MacKenzie here and a whole lot more. World music usually signifies roots less than fusion, which is why Mali singer Oumou Sangare's electrified traditionalism sounds just fine beside the avant-psychedelic guitar of Henry Kaiser and Malagasy singer Roger Georges. A certain disproportion is probably inevitable. Africa, with its incomparable dance rhythms, weighs in heavy with contributions by Youssou N'Dour (Senegal), Zaiko Langa Langa (Zaire), and Cecile Kayirebwa (Rwanda), while Asia is represented only by Guo Yue and Joji Hirota's flute duo. Irish folk, Louisiana zydeco, and Nubian blues are also represented here. But anyone interested in learning more about these artists will have to refer back to The Rough Guide to World Music for more information!......... at 192 kbps!"

Track Listings
01. Rebellion - Joe Arroyo
02. Sama Rew - Africando
03. Dugu Kamelenba - Oumou Sangare
04. Zaiko Wa Wa - Zaiko Langa Langa
05. Diandioli - Etoile De Dakar
06. Rwanamiza - Cecile Kayirebwa
07. Jono - Tarika Sammy
08. Tsaiky Mboly Hely - Henry Kaiser & David Lindley
09. Henna - Ali Hassan Kuban
10. Tanola Nomads - Sainkho
11. Goodbye Again - Guo Yue & Joji Hirota
12. Khosid Wedding Dances - Muzsikas
13. When I'm Up I Can't Get Down - Oyster Band
14. Hot Tamale Baby - Buckwheat's Zydeco Party
15. Theid Mi Dhach - Talitha MacKenzie

Code: Download CD
Password: Honey